Sewing The Scene – Amélie

On to my next Sewing The Scene project! I remember when Amélie came out – it was the year I graduated high school and obviously I required her apartment and wardrobe if I was going to do this adult thing. I must have watched this film hundreds of times, on VHS, on my 10 inch TV that didn’t get signal, in my not-red-or-Parisian apartment. Life was good, but I needed some vintage-y sweetheart necklines (and lace slips, and those bangs, and a secret recipe for plum cake). 16 years later and I STILL don’t have any spotty sweetheart blouses in my wardrobe. What have I been doing with my life?? That ends now. This is the look I’ve always remembered:

Screen Shot 2017-09-28 at 22.00.59

Screen Shot 2017-09-28 at 22.06.29

Screen Shot 2017-09-28 at 22.02.00.png

Looks simple enough, right? Boiled down to the essential elements, I’d say the neckline is key, the button-down, and small white spots on black. I’ve got some gorgeous fabric from Minerva Crafts, and I think this pattern will be perfect:

Screen Shot 2017-09-28 at 22.12.16.png
I love Gertie patterns, and I just know it’s going to be a winner. I can see in one scene that Amélie’s is sleeveless, so I’m going sleeveless too. The only thing I can’t tell is if hers is a blouse or a dress. I suspect dress, but I’m making a blouse. It’ll just be more versatile for me in winter – I can wear it with jeans, or a skirt and chunky boots when I want to go full Amélie.

Screen Shot 2017-09-28 at 22.17.47.png

Another thing – I always like when characters wear the same thing more than once, because it just makes their wardrobe seem realistic, and pulls me in somehow. She also wears that green cardigan for like half the movie. And this blouse is quite similar to the above one, if I ever see a similar fabric, I would snap it up in a heartbeat. So pretty. More of a V-neck:

Screen Shot 2017-09-28 at 22.05.08

It’s hardly original to go for a movie so famous for its style, but you know what? It’s famous because it’s so good! And I want in on that.

The finished project will be posted on the Minerva Crafts blog – keep an eye out for it!

Leave a Reply

